A virtual cycle at Loch Leven

Very varied weather this week here – whereas at the start of this week I was ready to welcome summer back, the nights and mornings have been very chilly and there’s been a bit of rain recently. So, it is certainly Autumn, and the bird life agrees – we have had a large movement of wintering birds to the loch in recent days. We urge you to please not go out on kayaks, paddleboards, canoes etc during this time as this disturbs these birds who have just travelled miles to touch down and rest, and do not want any unnecessary movement. Thank you to those who are understanding to this message!

No water access for winter

This week I used one of the nicer days to cycle around the whole loch – the purpose is to check on things, check overhanging vegetation, chat to people, and of course look out for wildlife, and it’s always very enjoyable. I started from our office at the pier and went anti-clockwise around the loch, taking enough pictures as I went to make a bit of a virtual tour on the blog this week.

Cycle stop with a view

Starting from our office, the first place I take a look at is the bridge over the South Queich. It’s always a lovely view and I have oftentimes seen a Kingfisher here so I always stop to have a look – on Tuesday I had some rather large fish swimming about in the clear water and a flock of Pink-footed Geese overhead so it was well worth a stop.

The clear waters of the South Queich

Our (relatively) new Phoenix Hide was my next stop and this was jumping with activity. Over 200 Mute Swan were gathered here amongst Little Grebe, Mallard, Tufted Duck and even a Little Egret working it’s way along the spit. Even without all the bird activity, it’s a fantastic view over the loch, and one that I can’t stop taking a photo off when I pass by.

One of the best views

The long straights after this are quite nice and peaceful to cycle through. At this time of year (and earlier in the summer) there are normally loads of butterflies flying around and sunbathing on the path and I love to watch them as they follow you and fly beside as you cycle or walk along.

Further along this section, I have a look in the gorse bushes as there are loads of spider webs right now. The perfect intricacies of these webs always amazes me.

After a short cycle past hedgerows and up the wee hill at the RSPB section, it opens up to the East Brackley viewpoint. This view is always worth it!

East Brackley viewpoint

Down the other side of the hill, you shortly get to Findatie. The meadow on the right hand side is filled with Devil’s-bit Scabious at the moment, and the beach is a great place to look out and see what birds you can see. The Great Crested Grebe’s were close in and easy to spot on this day, amongst loads of waterbirds on the far shore, including tufties in their many hundreds. There’s at least 10,000 Tufted Duck on the loch at the moment! I also had a Great Diving Beetle on the path here so something for everyone!

Along the Riven Leven is usually a great place to spot Grey Heron. Recently, I’ve been looking at how good the brambles look along here. I had my eye in to try and spot a Comma butterfly as they like to feed on these brambles, but I saw a Blackcap instead! Sorry butterfly lovers but that is definitely better, especially at this time of year! It was far too quick for a photo though, as usual.

Brambles looking tasty

Across the river and through the woods I came across loads of Red Admirals on the oak trees by the bridge. This butterfly has been seemingly everywhere recently, and it’s great to see. The photo below should show at least 5 Red Admirals with another few outside the frame!

How many Red Admirals?

Normally my next stop (and halfway point) is the Levenmouth Hide, but at this time of year there’s less water about in the pools so I decided to keep going to Levenmouth bench (although I do recommend a seat in the hide in the spring!). The view from Levenmouth bench was definitely worth stopping and looking at – there were at least 100 Mallard close in amongst a few other nice bits and pieces.

On a sunny day like it was on Tuesday, I enjoy cycling through the woodland areas of the reserve (Levenmouth and Black Woods) and seeing the sun peak through the trees. I also saw at least 5 Speckled Wood butterflies in these woodland areas too. These butterflies are expanding their territory here – whereas in previous years we would be lucky to see one, this year they are a lot easier to spot, especially at Levenmouth. The fungi is also emerging here too, like this Scotch bonnet.

The end of Blackwoods soon opens up to Carsehall bog, where I could hear the rustle of deer moving about and various small birds flying about. The section of the trail between here and Burleigh holds loads of ducks and swans at this time of year – many of these are winter visitors that may have just touched down on the loch recently.

Shortly after this I stop at one of my favourite views over the loch. This is from the east side of Burleigh looking towards Green Isle and beyond. It’s especially stunning on a lovely flat calm day like earlier this week. Almost a perfect reflection!

When I cycle through Burleigh, I like to take a quick detour to the Burleigh viewing screen and check out the birdlife here. There has been loads of Black-headed gulls hanging out here this week, along with mallard, geese, little grebe and goosander and much much more. I also wanted to check out the dragonfly life around the ponds and saw loads of common darters so it was a worthwhile stop.

Burleigh viewing screen

My favourite part of the cycle is from Burleigh back to the office as there is such a range of habitats and species to see. There’s a great bit of bracket fungi at the plantation after Mary’s Knowe. From Kirkgate viewing screen there was a few gadwall close in and the black swan that has been hanging about on the loch for a while was easily spotted from here on Tuesday. Kirkgate beach is also a good place to see mute swans close in as well.

I ended the day by watching skeins of Pink-footed Geese passing over Castle Island, and feeling quite autumnal! It’s a great time to be at Loch Leven NNR.

About Julie McDonald

Seasonal Nature Reserve Officer at Loch Leven NNR
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A virtual cycle at Loch Leven

  1. Anne says:

    What a wonderful tour!

Leave a comment