Green Hairstreaks

With the weather improving day by day we are seeing more and more insects on the wing. We’ve seen all of the commoner species of bumblebee apart from garden bumblebee so far. We’re seeing more butterflies too. Overwintering butterflies like peacock and small tortoiseshell are on the wing and can be seen almost daily if the weather is nice. We’re spotting the green-veined whites now as well.

I was tipped off the other day by volunteer insect survey stalwart George Guthrie that he had seen green hairstreaks on the wing already. The weather was nice so I headed out during my lunch break to see if I could find some.

I hadn’t had been walking very far before I found them. They like blaeberry and were happy sitting while I took photographs. I counted over 30. These butterflies are very local in Scotland and if the weather is poor they can be hard to find. A lot of lying on my stomach and creeping in was needed to get close but I struggled for ages to get a decent shot as there was always vegetation in the way!

Image

Blaeberry habitat

Image

Trying to be elusive!

Image

Finally captured a picture when he was out in the open

Image

I could creep up close in the cloudy conditions

Image

Really nice head on shot!

Image

Oops too close as it climbs away using the lens

Image

Quite happily uses the camera as a perch!

About @jeremysquire

Naturalist living in Kinross-shire originally from Gloucestershire. Twitter @Jeremysquire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

